New to Amsterdam - Worshops and resources

Simon G

Nieuw lid
7 jul 2015
I'm new to Amsterdam and looking for somewhere to do some woodwork. Are there workshops or woodworking clubs in the city where you can pay a membership or other usage fee to use their tools?

Also, what are the best stores to putchase tools and timber? Are there any places where you can buy recycled building materials?

My apologies for posting in English, I've started learning some dutch but nowhere near enough to make myself understood!

Wim Kluck

Oud hout
28 feb 2010
Gaanderen
Welcom to our forum. The re are several good woodworking shops in the netherlands. In Amsterdam is the amsterdamse fijnhouthandel. Just look on the Internet for adress. Masave is our forumsupplier. You can find him at the top of the homepage. One of the best toolshops in the netherlands is baptist voor houtbewerkers. The are in arnhem. Teygeler Danzigerkade 1, 1013 AP Amsterdam
Sorry for the mistakes but i have tryed to answer in english. Next time in dutch

henkverhaar

Oud hout
20 jan 2011
Nijswiller
www.buroverhaar.nl
Note that Amsterdamse Fijnhouthandel (Minervahavenweg) has a huge selection of hardwood, but are also a dealer for Dictum hand tools, and have a nice selection of tools in store. As Wim sez, the absolute undisputed best place in NL to go for tools, accessories and gadgets is Baptist in Arnhem - unfortunately, the Netherlands does not nearly have the facilities you find in the UK or the US, as far as high end amateur woodworking supplies is concerned. Dunno about public workshops though.

lemen

Post veel
23 mrt 2014
midden tussen de noorse sparren
Welcome Simon!
I can understand your feelings living in a country with a difficult language:D
On the other hand: woodworking.nl gives the idea that they are international!